Salrin Nominated to Junior Academy of Science

Salrin Nominated to Junior Academy of Science
Posted on 01/31/2021

Tyler Salrin of Beckman Catholic High School has been nominated as one of two Iowa students to participate in the American Junior Academy of Science.  Tyler was selected based on his research entitled, “Structural, Hydrophilic, and Ultraviolet Resistance Analysis to Determine Graphene Bonding on Glass.” He will present his research virtually on February 6th.  This year’s events include plenary lectures by Dr. Anthony Fauci (Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health), Dr. Ruha Benjamin, Dr. Mary L Gray ( principal researcher, Microsoft Research), and Dr. Sethuraman Panchanathan (Director of the National Science Foundation).  Tyler will also have a chance to meet other students from around The United States while participating in workshop sessions. 

The American Junior Academy of Science (AJAS) is the only national honor society recognizing America's premier high school students for outstanding scientific research.

Each state's Academy of Science nominates high school students as AJAS delegates.  The chosen delegates are then invited to attend the AJAS annual conference.  The AJAS mission is to introduce, encourage, and accelerate pre-college students into the professional world of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

AJAS meets annually in conjunction with the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) annual meeting.  AAAS is the largest scientific organization in the world and the publisher of 'Science'.  AAAS serves as an authoritative source for information on the latest developments in science and bridges gaps among scientists, policy-makers, and the public to advance science and science education.

During the conference, AJAS delegates tour local institutions of scientific importance, share their research with their peers and with other scientists, attend conference sessions and are inducted as lifetime Fellows into the American Junior Academy of Science.

AJAS is a program of the National Association of the Academics of Science (NAAS).

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.